This Week's Gold Hemets

NEFW Names Season Award Recipeints


Cambridge, Mass. – The New England football Writers have announced the organization’s 2018 season award winners with players and coaches from five different institutions honored.

The Jerry Nason Award for the senior football player in New England who succeeds in football against all odds will be presented to Riley Quinn. Quinn, a defensive back for MIT, helped the Engineers to a 9-1 record and the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference championship. Quinn was born without a left hand and forearm, yet played four years of college football and snagged three interceptions in his career. Quinn is pursuing a double major of Finance and Mathematics and Economics and has a perfect 5.0 grade point average.

The coach of the year awards are presented to University of Maine head coach Joe Harasymiak and University of New Haven coach Chris Pincince. Harasymiak is the recipient of the Jack Grinold Division I Award for leading the Black Bears to an 8-3 record, the championship of the Colonial Athletic Association and a first round bye in the Division I FCS playoffs. Pincince earned the Division II/III award by directing the Chargers to a 9-3 record with losses only to Division I Bryant University, Division II nationally ranked LIU-Post and Slippery Rock University in the second round of the Division II Championship Tournament.

Players from Boston College and New Haven will receive the Season Gold Helmet Awards presented to the player of the year in the University and College Divisions. Boston College senior defensive end Zach Allen, one of the most dominant players in the ACC, is the University Division recipient and University of New Haven quarterback Ajee Patterson will accept the College Division Award. Fifteen of Allen’s 61 tackles this season were for losses, including 6.5 sacks. Patterson, a senior, averaged nearly 240 yards passing per game with 29 TD tosses. He completed nearly 65% of his passes for a total of 2,878 yards.

The Harry Agganis/Harold Zimman Award will be presented to UMass wide receiver Andy Isabella. The Agganis/Zimman Award is presented to the most outstanding player in New England. Isabella leads the Division I FBS in receiving yards, is third in receptions per game and fifth in receiving touchdowns. He is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award as the top collegiate receiver in the nation.

The George Carens Award for contributions to football in New England goes to long-time assistant coach Leo Fanning. Fanning coached college football for nearly 45 years starting at his alma mater Bridgewater State in 1971. He has also coached at UMass, Tufts, AIC, Holy Cross, Boston University, Harvard, Norwich and Bentley. Following his retirement from Bentley earlier this year, he took over as the color commentator on Bentley football webcasts.

The team will be honored at the New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 6, at Rosaria Restaurant and Function Facility in Saugus, Mass. Tickets are $60/person and are available only by credit card at

People interested in attending should contact Dick Lipe at Bentley University at 781‐891‐2334 so tables can be assigned.